Skip to content

Thursday quick hits

June 23, 2011

Hey, somebody’s got to provide some hits around here, right? A few odds and ends before I leave for the Bay area for the weekend:

  • After one last shelling for old times’ sake, Miguel “The Poet” Batista was released-a by the Cardinals on Wednesday. His ouster won’t be the end of the Cardinals’ bullpen woes, but will it be the end of Twitter sensation Fake Miguel Batista? (By the way, if you don’t know the story behind the “Miguel and Miss Iowa” photo, read it here.)
  • I’m glad to join the Cardinals in encouraging Missourians to visit the Joplin Humane Society’s Adoptathon this weekend. The Humane Society is still housing more than 600 pets left homeless by the tornado that devastated Joplin, and they’re making too-good-to-refuse deals on spayed/neutered, vaccinated, microchipped pets for responsible adopters. If you don’t live in the area or you don’t need a pet, consider donating online! Readers who know me know that I spent nearly 20 years working in animal shelters in one capacity or another, so I’m particularly devoted to this issue, and I’ll be sending them a contribution too.
  • Cubs’ owner Joe Ricketts is being sued by two women, both named Patricia, who claim that he fired them from the Omaha-based charity he managed after they filed sexual harassment claims against another administrator. To anyone who follows the Cubs, the most shocking revelation to emerge from this story is that Ricketts knows how to fire people at all.
  • Not about baseball, but I can’t resist noting that one of my other favorite summertime sports institutions, Wimbledon, has taken steps to crack down on players who grunt and screech during play. Oh—did I say “players”? I meant “women players.” Rafa Nadal and Andy Roddick are still free to yelp and moan at will. (Click that last link and let me know how long you last.)

And now that that image is in your head, I’m going to take off. See you on the other side of the weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a comment