Skip to content

How ’bout that!

April 16, 2012

Read that post title in your best Mel Allen voice, and marvel with me at the fact that sometimes the system works, in small but satisfying ways.

Like all Cardinal fans except the ones who are currently between two and six years old, I grew up listening to baseball on KMOX radio. My bedside radio stayed tuned to AM 1120 for at least six months of each year; Jack Buck’s voice lulled me to sleep during late-night west-coast games when I was a kid, and crackled to life on the car radio  a few hours out of St. Louis when I made the long drive home from college later on. And by the grace of MLB.com, I still listen to virtually every game with Mike Shannon’s malapropism-laden commentary, even though I’ve spent the last 17 years living many miles beyond KMOX’s reach.

So I was roughly a million times more irritated than David Freese’s finger when I heard KMOX’s new self-promotional “Voice of the Cardinals” spot, in which a parade of loyal Cardinal fans offer brief, heartfelt testimonies about what Cardinal baseball on KMOX means to them. Why?

Because every bloody one of the fans featured in the ad is a dude.

Yes, “the Voice of the Cardinals” seems to think that “the voice of the fans” is always male, and they sprinkled in a couple of references to baseball as a “father-son” tradition to drive the point home.

Naturally, I dropped whatever crucial thing I was doing (I think it involved sinus medication and sudoku) and fired off an e-mail to KMOX, reminding them that the Cardinals’ fan base is, in fact, co-ed. And this morning, I awoke to find a reply in my inbox:

You’re criticism is fair and we will adjust the ad to better reflect the listener base.

Huh. That was….too easy. What am I supposed to rail about on the blog (other than the obvious your/you’re problem, which I’m uncharacteristically choosing to get over because I’m so pleased with the substance of the e-mail) when my feminist disgruntlement is met with responsiveness instead of resistance and my team’s playing good baseball?

For the moment, it’s a problem I’m happy to have.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 4:47 am

    Aren’t baseball fans, like the general population, roughly half female (meaning half of them are female, not that they are all partially female 🙂 )?

    Maybe you should send another e-mail offering your services as a “voice of the fan”. I’m sure you also know other articulate women who could give it a gander.

  2. April 17, 2012 7:37 am

    Good for you for making the effort to get in touch with them, and good for them for listening to you and not being defensive douchebagges about it!

  3. April 18, 2012 1:02 pm

    Well teaspooned! I am pleased they were so responsive.

  4. April 20, 2012 8:39 am

    Good for you, and what a happy result.

    Did you also stay up after the game to listen to Young Bobby Costas give the midnight sports rundown? I think you’re too young to have done that, but those were the days at KMOX, I tells ya.

    • April 21, 2012 9:16 am

      I think I was six or seven when Costas left KMOX, so my memories of him as a hometown broadcaster are blurry at best! I usually got shuttled off to bed as soon as “That’s a winner!” was spoken, anyway…..

  5. May 31, 2012 12:46 pm

    Good for you for sharing your thoughts with the KMOX! I’m a HUGE Cardinals’ fan (female) and I understand your pain. I was actually searching for some female driven baseball blogs when I found this little gem. I know more about the game than most of my male friends and was passed down the tradition by my mother and grandmother – who was the most devoted fan I’ve ever known. Thanks for this!

    • May 31, 2012 12:47 pm

      By the way, I did not mean to post “the” KMOX – typo. Just sayin’

      • May 31, 2012 3:20 pm

        Hi Courtney! A look at your tumblr site (thanks for the mention, by the way!) suggests that we will get along JUST GREAT. Now, for heaven’s sakes, let’s beat the pond scum this weekend…..

Trackbacks

  1. » Weekend Links Post Bloomer Girls Blog
  2. » One Female Baseball Fan’s Thoughts on Jezebel’s “I Love Balls” Series Bloomer Girls Blog

Leave a Reply

