Skip to content

Dear John (Axford)….

September 3, 2013

[An open letter to the newest and potentially coolest Cardinal]

There’s so very much I need to say to you, Mr. Axford, and I probably ought to start with an apology for the fact that I used to think you were yucky back when you were a Brewer who was mowing down my team and making Duck-Dynasty-foreshadowing grooming choices, before this happened and I realized that you and I would probably get along just fine.

But my prose, like your hair, is better short than long, so I’ll let bygones be bygones and keep this brief.

I know you like art, since you tweeted about it yesterday and you had a fairly awesome 80-second stint as an unofficial docent at the National Gallery. So, as a gesture of welcome, and as my way of letting you know that I’m already pretty attached to your Simpsons-quoting, film-festival-supporting, hair-donating, Jason-Motte’s-pants-wearing self, I made you this. I call it “Axford in the Leaping Laird’s Den”:

laird axford

I hope you like it.

Yours truly,
ABOTO

P.S. Peter Paul Rubens helped but I did most of it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2013 8:56 am

    Awesome!

  2. September 4, 2013 11:22 am

    Excellent blog (and artwork)! As a die hard Milwaukee Brewers fan (who loves everything about Milwaukee), I was sad to see John Axford be traded. The last weekend home series last season (2012), my niece and I bought matching Axford jerseys and my ringtone is ‘New Noise’ by Refused (his entrance music). I was happy; however, to hear that he went to such a great baseball city (St. Louis) with such great baseball fans! Had he gone to the Cubs, I probably would have hung myself! So take care of my favorite player and I hope he provides you with as many thrills and as much as excitement as he provided to us in Milwaukee over the years!

    Respectfully,

    Don
    forloveormilwaukee.com

    • September 4, 2013 3:16 pm

      This is such a nice comment—thanks, and we promise to take good care of Axford. (Can’t guarantee him a trip to the postseason, though, if our team doesn’t start scoring runs again sometime soon.) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

